Keeping Chess a New Mexican Tradition



New Mexico Chess Organization

NMCO, P.O. Box 4215, Albuquerque, NM 87196-4215

President: Andrew Flores
Vice President: Peter Cuneo
Treasurer: Dean Brunton or 505-241-2618
Secretary: Nick Miller
Tournament Organizer: Richard Warren
Interim Tournament Director: Arthur Glassman
Scholastic Director: Anthony Romero
Desert Knight Editor: Doug Thigpen
Webmaster: Andrew Ackerman
Member at Large: Holly McRoberts
NMCO Board Email:

Welcome to the new NMCO Website! This new site design for NMCO is powered by WordPress, which will allow for easier data input and management for NMCO. On the top right you will notice the following icon hamburger. This icon is called the hamburger menu. If you click on it with your mouse or touch it with your finger on a tablet or mobile device it will allow you to see the main menu.

On the forum page we have added the ability to submit posts through the website. Simply click the link on the right side of the page called “Submit a Post” to fill out the form. It allows for HTML and Rich text along with the ability to paste images. Another added feature in the forum area is the ability to respond to posts through the comments. All posts and comments will be approved by the webmaster before making it to the live site. The NMCO board hopes you enjoy our new website.

NMCO would like to formally thank Jeff Sallade and Joey Troy for the hard work of supporting the NMCO Website.


Our Constitution
Our By Laws

Rooks Quad has been rated

Thanks to all who competed at the library on Saturday. Congrats to the winners of the 3 quads - Aravind, Elonzo Santillanes and Kevin Zemko. The next SFR chess is an Unrated blitz and quick tourney, probably at the same venue on March 9th. Check...

read more

Desert Knight Available

Hey all, The Desert Knight is now available under the “Desert Knight Magazine” option on this site My extensive thanks to everyone who worked on this issue, especially Matt Grinberg and Andrew Flores, who put a great...

read more

SF rooks action event

This tournament has now been rated. Congrats to Ryan McCracken who took clear 1st and thanks to all who played. Our next event will be a quad on January 5th at the La Farge library...details at

read more