The 2017 Albuquerque Open was a great success and (hopefully) a good time was had by all. There were 22 winners (from 4 sections) out of 65 players. Players came from Abiquiu, Albuquerque, Belen, Carrizozo, El Paso, Farmington, Grants, Kirtland, Las Cruces, Los Alamos, Medenales, Portales, Rio Rancho, Sandia Park, Santa Fe, Socorro and Tularosa.

The top section, Fischer, was won by Edward Wycoff with a clear first place (4.5 out of 5). Ed also raised his rating over 2000 (congratulations Ed!!!). There was a tie for second and third between Stephen Sandager and Philip Bauer. That was a tough section to say the least.

The Lasker section had a tie for first and second between Michael Torres and Daniel Dunning. Third place resulted in a four-way tie among Andrew Ackerman, Vasudev (Nitant) Kenkre, Paul Padilla and Micah Donohue. Andrew and Micah immediately traded in their winnings for an official, spiffy-looking NMCO t-shirt.

The Fine section (and a fine section it was!) was won by Gabriel Madrid with 4.5 out of 5. Joe Schrader was a clear second with 3.5 points, while there was a tie for third among Joey Troy (three cheers for the NMCO webmaster!) Eric Johnston, John Scott and Sean Reardon.

The Browne section had a two-way tie for first between Annabelle Romero (our very own NMCO Board President!) and Thomas Licht. Five – yes, five – people tied for third: Matias Coronado, Isabella Hays, Abraham Jenkins, Marcus Santillanes and John Burrell with 3 points.

A lot of people stayed around to watch the finishes on the top boards, and not just in the Fischer section either. It was difficult to get near the boards to have a look most of the time!